Critical History of Contemporary Architecture 1960-2010

David Rifkind, Elie G. Haddad

Ashgate, Farnham, 2014


1960, following as it did the last CIAM meeting, signalled a turning point for the Modern Movement. From then on, architecture was influenced by seminal texts by Aldo Rossi and Robert Venturi, and gave rise to the first revisionary movement following Modernism. Bringing together leading experts in the field, this book provides a comprehensive, critical overview of the developments in architecture from 1960 to 2010. It consists of two parts: the first section providing a presentation of major movements in architecture after 1960, and the second, a geographic survey that covers a wide range of territories around the world. This book not only reflects the different perspectives of its various authors, but also charts a middle course between the ‘aesthetic’ histories that examine architecture solely in terms of its formal aspects, and the more ‘ideological’ histories that subject it to a critique that often skirts the discussion of its formal aspects.

Artikelnummer: 11341 Categorie:

ISBN: 9781409439813

530 pagina's, 299 z/w illustraties, 24,4 × 17,2 cm, paperback, Engels