Isabel Miquel Arqués: Dialogue with Virginia Woolf

Isabel Miquel Arqués

Ludion, 2023


The second book in the ‘Beyond Borders’ trilogy by Belgian/Spanish artist Isabel Miquel Arqués examines Virginia Woolf’s influence on her own life and practice. Since first reading Woolf at the age of sixteen, the English modernist writer’s unconventional manner of thinking and groundbreaking style has continued to fascinate her. The book is divided into nine “waves”, a reference to Woolf’s most experimental novel, ‘The Waves’, in which each wave represents a different chapter in the writer’s life. When telling her visual story, Arqués, like Woolf, allows herself to be guided by a rhythm, not by the structure of a plot. The photographs are accompanied by quotes from Woolf’s books and diaries.


ISBN: 9789464781021

168 pagina's, geïllustreerd, 31 x 24 cm, paperback, Engels